Grateful Dead

For new sounds, old sounds and favourite sound discussion...

Moderators: sunny, BzaInSpace, runcible, spzretent

spunder
Known user

Grateful Dead

Post by spunder »

runcible wrote:Endless Grateful Dead live recordings.
it is mental how virtually every grateful dead gig can be downloaded ....and quite a high proportion are of very good sound quality. have you got any of the 'acid test' reels.?
runcible
Site Admin

Re: What Are You Listening To Now?

Post by runcible »

spunder wrote:it is mental how virtually every grateful dead gig can be downloaded ....and quite a high proportion are of very good sound quality. have you got any of the 'acid test' reels.?
Dunno, I only have one 1966 show. Redcloud is the man for expertise on the Dead, I am a mere novice. There can be few more knowledgeable people than him about this sort of stuff.

The shows I have are all of live album quality - it's incredible that such an archive of one of the most important psychedelic bands exists.
jadams501
Known user

Post by jadams501 »

Happy Mondays - Live

To my surprise, actually a really fantastic live album. The Mondays seem like they should be terrible -- certainly the individual elements of the band are not impressive -- but they are so much more than the sum of their parts and really capture the time and place.

Re: Grateful Dead, I've only heard the decidedly non-psychedelic American Beauty album. I've never been all that interested in them, but have been reading The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test and am perhaps more open to them than I've been in the past. What would you all recommend as a good second foray into the band?
runcible
Site Admin

Post by runcible »

I saw the Mondays a few times - both before they made it big and after. They could be utterly amazing and get into such a brilliant groove - Wrote For Luck the obvious example.