The Spiritualized Book & Comic Club

All of the above.

Moderators: sunny, BzaInSpace, runcible, spzretent

Stuart X.Hunter
Known user

The Spiritualized Book & Comic Club

Post by Stuart X.Hunter »

Hi...are you sitting comfortably? Right, lets prop those tortoise-shell rimmed glasses back up to the bridge of our noses and dive in...

Have 3 on the go at the minute (and for sometime, right bunny ben!).

Kafka - The Trial (1 quarter read)
Philip K. Dick - The Man in the High Castle (just started)
Huxley - A Brave New World (4 fifths read)

I'm a novice reader...I used to be voracious as a young un with those Micahel Hardcastle football books but now I struggle to finish one...like the idea of making my mind up how things turn out, i guess.

Might be nice (if interested) to pass on books when you've read them...kinda like a library...but with looser return/finishing dates.

Anyway, enjoying the "matter-of-fact-ness" surrounding Josef K. trial and questioning so far. As a character he doesn't seem unperturbed by the fact that he's done nowt wrong and subjects himself to interference from authorities without question. Quite like Kafka method when describing scenes/apartments.
The first 2 chapters reveal (unknowingly) a large amount of information in The Man in the High Castle. Chuckle at the authors oversight of words when narrating through the mouth of Tagomi and also at the haughtey-ness of Childan...in his social desire to be elevated higher than what he is.
I'm at the stage in BNW where the savage or John's "mother" (can't say that word) or Linda has just died. Haven't touched it in a while...got a bit concerned after "they" turned on Bernard with "there" whispers...maybe it'l all work out.