How Many Gigs have to you been to?

For anything else...

Moderators: sunny, BzaInSpace, spzretent, MODLAB, NightWash

burningwheel
Known user

How Many Gigs have to you been to?

Post by burningwheel »

in your lifetime. i recently saw a guy on a forum somewhere, claimed he had been to over 1000 gigs, that seemed like a lot and unrealistic

i couldn't tell you how many i've been to, maybe 100 and i think i've been to a lot of gigs
[url=http://www.loveisforever.org]Primal Scream, My Bloody Valentine, Swervedriver, Chapterhouse, The Telescopes, Loop, Verve and more![/url]
Shinesalight
Known user

Re: How Many Gigs have to you been to?

Post by Shinesalight »

I reckon I've done about 300-400ish based on the fact that I've been gigging for the last 20 years and, just this year alone, I've been to 30 odd gigs. So, 1000 gigs could quite easily be done if the chap in question has been doing it for some time, he goes to see loads of local bands in pubs/etc or if its something to do with his job. I'm in a position where I haven't had kids get in the way (is that a nice way of putting prospective family life?!) but I would have thought many people on this forum would have been to even more gigs than I have.
www.dronerockrecords.com
The Home of Drone
runcible
Site Admin

Post by runcible »

A quick count of my ticket stubs reveals about 380 gigs since November 1978.
Shaun
Known user

Post by Shaun »

If someone went to a major 3 day summer festival and watched 10 acts in concert per day, times that by 3 festivals per year, timed by 10 years of going to those festivals, add on all the other gigs a mid 40 year old has seen since he or she started going to gigs from the age of about 15 or 16, which for arguments sake might average 5 per year, then 1000+ gigs is very realistic.....in my opinion and if festival gigs are allowed.
What more can the heart of a man desire?
runcible
Site Admin

Post by runcible »

I counted any festivals I went to as one gig...